If you can’t or won’t list a single weakness, I won’t hire you.

Around the web, it’s easy to find well-intentioned advice suggesting that you should respond to “name a weakness” type questions by turning your response into a positive, and I’ve had plenty of candidates tell me that they can’t think of any weaknesses they might have. But, personally, I think that both of these approaches are wrong. If we’re going to work together, its important to understand how; honesty is a big part of establishing a good working relationship. Feeding me some trite drivel doesn’t really help. Part of my job is to steer you out of dangerous waters, and knowing what danger you’re likely to get into is important. Without a direct answer, I’m going to assume that you’re either dishonest, arrogant, or clueless. Guess how likely you are to get an offer? Yes, it’s true, there is the possibility I’ll decide-as is my prerogative–that whatever weakness you declare precludes you from working on my team. But that’s a risk you’re just going to have to take.

About jeffmershon

Director of Program Management at SiriusXM.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

